Skip to content

Giant birthday cupcake

July 6, 2009

As I mentioned in my previous post, after sending some cupcakes into nursery with Grace a few weeks ago, I ended up with an order for a birthday cake from one of the staff. She wanted something for her son’s 16th birthday that was very chocolatey and looked like a giant version of the cupcakes I had sent in. I hope this fitted the brief!

Giant cupcake

It is a chocolate and mint cake which I baked in the Wilton cupcake pan. It bakes the top and bottom parts separately and then you sandwich them together with buttercream to give the cupcake shape. I stuck dark and milk chocolate fingers around the edge to make it look like a cupcake case, swirled chocolate buttercream on the top and decorated it with Oreo cookies, chocolate buttons and sprinkles.

As I was dropping it off at nursery, the manager caught me and asked if I could make a dozen cupcakes for the next day for her husband’s birthday party! She wanted a variety so I made some chcolate ones, some lemon and poppy seed ones and these vanilla cakes with strawberry buttercream and a marzipan strawberry.

Vanilla strawberry cupcakes

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 4:21 pm

    Oh dear lord, I really need to know where to find chocolate mint cake recipe! Sounds like my dream cake!

  2. July 7, 2009 7:59 am

    I’ve seen the giant cupcake pan in Lakeland and you’ve made a fab cake! I love the idea of using chocolate fingers for the case.

  3. July 8, 2009 11:32 am

    Oh yummy! Glad you live close so I can get you to do one for my mum’s birthday!

  4. Kirsten permalink
    July 8, 2009 12:41 pm

    Hi, just found your website. Strange I bought some bananas this morning with the intention to make some banana cupcakes. Love the giant chocolate cupcake. What ounce-age did you use for the top and bottom? I am thinking of getting a mould for various birthdays coming up in the next year.

    Yum Yum, Newcastle.

    K

  5. amylane permalink*
    July 9, 2009 8:12 pm

    Thanks for your kind comments πŸ™‚

    Kitschycoo – I’ll email you the recipe I use, it is lush!

    Jules – I saw the pan in Lakeland too but had a voucher for somewhere else which made it a bit cheaper!

    Jo – Yay, I’d love to make one for your Mum, drop me a line when it’s her birthday πŸ™‚

    Kirsten – I made a 6 egg mix and divided it between the top and the bottom. I always weigh the eggs first and use the same amount in butter, sugar and flour.

  6. July 11, 2009 11:12 am

    Hi Amy, I’m going to start calling you queen of swirls, because you’re cupcake swirling is bloody brilliant! haha! It was lovely to meet you yesterday, and I am totally in awe of your baking talents πŸ™‚
    I feel very inspired and motivated today – what about you? I swapped my blog over to WordPress last night… so let the blogging commence πŸ™‚ Love and buttercream, Angie xx

  7. Sarah permalink
    August 30, 2009 7:01 pm

    amylane,

    Please could you email me your mint/choc cake recipe? Your giant cupcake looks ace. I want to make it for my birthday – it’s traditional to take cakes into work and I like to make an impression!!!!

    • Geraldine permalink
      October 15, 2010 11:25 am

      Hi Sarah
      Would it be possible for you to e-mail me your recipe for the Giant Cupcake please?
      It looks lovely!
      I have bought a tin but don’t have a recipe with it I am afraid.

  8. Joanna permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    Your giant cupcake is awesome! I have been searching for a recipe and came across your site, would you possibly share your recipe with me?

  9. Siobhan permalink
    November 11, 2009 2:56 pm

    Hi

    I have just brought one f these giant cupcake tins and have been trying to find a reciepe.would you be so kind as to send me a copy.

    Thank you

  10. christine permalink
    November 12, 2009 7:50 pm

    Hi, came across your site whilst looking for a giant cupcake recipe for my daughter. She loves chocolate could you possibly e-mail me your recipe for the choc and mint cupcake?She would so love it,it looks fabulous.
    Thanks
    Chris

  11. Leslie Henderson permalink
    January 26, 2010 4:38 pm

    This is absolutely incredible. I have the wilton cupcake pan..I’ve been looking for a recipe & yours fits the mold perfectly. No pun intended:) Would you mind emailing it to me. I plan on making the cupcake for a friend’s birthday this weekend. Thanks!

  12. amylane permalink*
    January 26, 2010 5:03 pm

    Thanks for all your nice comments. For those of you who have requested recipes, please see my post on recipes and why I am not currently giving them out. https://amylane.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/recipes/

Leave a comment