Skip to content

Rabbit Cake

March 24, 2010

This cake was ordered by a friend of a friend after she saw my teddy cake on Facebook. When she phoned, she asked if she could have a rabbit instead of a teddy. I panicked slightly inside as the teddy had been baked in a teddy shaped tin and I don’t have a rabbit shaped tin, but I said I could do it!

To make the cake, I baked a large sponge, drew a rabbit on paper, cut it out to make a template, then used it to cut the cake into shape. If you are going to cut a cake I recommend leaving it for a day to settle as it makes it much easier to cut. Then I piped white buttercream fur all over and added pink buttercream details and a black sugarpaste face. It was actually really fun to make and I was pleased with how it turned out, especially after my initial worries.

Apparently it went down very well at the party πŸ™‚

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 11:18 am

    I think it’s gorgeous smiley face really makes it. You are an artist!

  2. March 24, 2010 12:19 pm

    I think he is such a super bunny

  3. amylane permalink*
    March 27, 2010 8:52 pm

    Thanks guys! My Mum said she liked his smiley face too πŸ™‚

  4. March 28, 2010 6:49 pm

    Clever you, and thank you for the tip about waiting a day to cut the cake into shape. Might help me the next time I try and make a pirate ship two seconds before the party begins!

    • amylane permalink*
      March 28, 2010 6:53 pm

      Lol, I don’t always take my own advice and can often be found doing things last minute! πŸ™‚

  5. Zoe permalink
    April 5, 2010 10:33 pm

    WOW Amy your cakes are fab as is your blog. LOVING IT.

    xxx Zoe xxx

    AKA Beaniebanks on twitter x

    • amylane permalink*
      April 5, 2010 10:36 pm

      Thanks Zoe! Haven’t seen you around for a while, hope all is well with you, x

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Rabbit Cake Β« Cooking, Cakes & Children -- Topsy.com
  2. Billy The Bear Birthday Cake « Cooking, Cakes & Children

Leave a comment